Lucy

Years at TGS:  2009-2016.

Course Studied: Higher Level:  Geography, Economics, English. Standard Level: Maths Studies, Biology, French.

School Honours: Geography Prize Yr11 .

Post school destination:  Durham University to study Geography. I’m currently in the third year of my studies but have recently been accepted onto the 'MA in Risk' at Durham which looks at political, environmental and social security issues both in the UK and globally such as migration and terrorism. 

How did studying the IB Diploma help in your further study/job?: The Diploma gave me a multiplicity of skills which have been useful in my degree. Not only did it encourage me to become an independent and self motivated learner it also gave me a wide breadth of skills which I have been able to apply to my degree. For example, undertaking Economics HL gave me insight into aspects of global trade which have been useful in some of my geography studies. Additionally, Maths Studies assisted me in the first year of my degree when I was required to carry out quantitative research and use stats to analyse it. Additionally, by writing the Extended Essay it placed me in a better position to write my first essays at university! 

How did TGS support your application to further education?: The school was efficient, requiring us to get our applications in early, which then reduced the pressure when there were coursework deadlines the next term. Additionally, by having several teachers reading my Personal Statement it meant that I was in the best position I could be when sending off my UCAS form. Also, it is a daunting experience, thus the support from the 6th Form Director definitely made it easier.

What did TGS 'give' you that has stayed with you throughout your life?: It made me a hard worker. 

Top 3 memories of your time at TGS?:  Sports days, summertime lunches on the field and sports lessons.  

What would you tell someone thinking of studying at TGS?: That it is a excellent, supportive school which will encourage you to do as well as you can and help you realise your academic potential! It also it a lovely community for making friends and for extra-curricular activities. 

Where do you hope to be in 10 years’ time?: With a job in the city, or if not working for a charity and helping others.

The most inspirational place you've been?: I went travelling with my sister for 2.5 months to Central America this summer: to Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica and Panama! A very enriching experience where I was able to understand and learn about another culture.

After coming back from Central America, I then went to volunteer at 'Care4Calais', a charity which operates in Calais, Northern France. Before I went I did a clothes and food collection in my local village.

Once I arrived there, each morning we would spend time sorting out donations, then in the afternoon we would go to distribution points, in Calais, Dunkirk and Brussels. Here we would give out a different item each day, for example a sleeping bag, to the refugees.

It was a challenging but enlightening experience and I felt an important cause to support given that this migration crisis is happening on our doorstep! Also, despite the poor conditions that the refugees lived in, they were so grateful for anything you could give them, they were also so polite, friendly and funny and I found this really warming seeing as they are living in such poor conditions. I would really recommend this experience to anyone! 

Favourite book of all time?:  A Town Like Alice: Nevil Shute.

What one thing would make the world a better place?:  For people to be more generous/ charitable to others/ those in need .

When you were young, what did you want to be when you grew up?:  An Interior Designer.